OFFICE OF THE ELECTION SUPERVISOR for the INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS

)

)

)

IN RE: TOIALE JOHNSON,

Protestor.

Protest Decision 2011 ESD 225 Issued: April 21, 2011 OES Case No. P-141-021511-MW

Toiale Johnson, member of Local Union 299 and candidate for delegate on the New Era slate, filed a pre-election protest pursuant to Article XIII, Section 2(b) of the Rules for the 2010-2011 IBT International Union Delegate and Officer Election ("*Rules*"). The protest alleged that campaign literature for the opposing Moore Members First slate was spread on a table outside a meeting room, and in chairs in the meeting room, during a Local Union 299 cartage meeting that took place on February 13, 2011 at the Michigan Conference of Teamsters and Welfare Hall, Room 203. This action is alleged to have violated Article VII, Section 5(a)(4).

Election Supervisor representative Joe Childers investigated this protest.

Findings of Fact and Analysis

Pursuant to Article XIII, Section 2(f)(2), we deferred decision on this protest until after the delegates and alternate delegates election at Local Union 299, thereby treating this matter as post-election protest pursuant to Article XIII, Section 3. Except for protests alleging threats, coercion, intimidation, violence or retaliation, post-election protests shall be considered and remedied only if the alleged violation may have affected the outcome of the election.

The election was held on March 10, 2011. Four delegates and four alternate delegates were elected. The margin of victory in the delegates election between the lowest winning and the highest losing tally was 167 votes. In the alternate delegates election, the margin was 170 votes.

The protester told our investigator that between 80 and 100 members attended the February 13 cartage meeting at issue. Ken Kwapisz, local union secretary-treasurer and chair of the election committee for the delegate election, told our investigator that he chaired the February 13 cartage meeting and that the sign-in sheet for the meeting showed 55 members attended it.

Even were the number who attended the meeting as high as the protestor claimed, the margin between winning and losing candidates demonstrates that the alleged violation, if proven, did not affect the outcome of the election.

Accordingly, we DENY this protest.

Any interested party not satisfied with this determination may request a hearing before the Election Appeals Master within two (2) working days of receipt of this decision. The parties *Johnson*, 2011 ESD 225 April 21, 2011

are reminded that, absent extraordinary circumstances, no party may rely upon evidence that was not presented to the Office of the Election Supervisor in any such appeal. Requests for a hearing shall be made in writing, shall specify the basis for the appeal, and shall be served upon:

> Kenneth Conboy Election Appeals Master Latham & Watkins 885 Third Avenue, Suite 1000 New York, NY 10022 Fax: (212) 751-4864

Copies of the request for hearing must be served upon the parties, as well as upon the Election Supervisor for the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, 1801 K Street, N.W., Suite 421 L, Washington, D.C. 20006, all within the time prescribed above. A copy of the protest must accompany the request for hearing.

Richard W. Mark Election Supervisor

cc: Kenneth Conboy 2011 ESD 225

Johnson, 2011 ESD 225 April 21, 2011

DISTRIBUTION LIST (BY EMAIL UNLESS OTHERWISE SPECIFIED):

Bradley T. Raymond, General Counsel International Brotherhood of Teamsters 25 Louisiana Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20001 braymond@teamster.org

David J. Hoffa Hoffa Hall 2011 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Ste. 730 Washington, D.C. 20036 hoffadav@hotmail.com

Ken Paff Teamsters for a Democratic Union P.O. Box 10128 Detroit, MI 48210-0128 ken@tdu.org

Barbara Harvey 1394 E. Jefferson Avenue Detroit, MI 48207 blmharvey@sbcglobal.net

Fred Gegare P.O. Box 9663 Green Bay, WI 54308-9663 kirchmanb@yahoo.com

Scott D. Soldon 3541 N. Summit Avenue Shorewood, WI 53211 scottsoldon@gmail.com

Fred Zuckerman, President Teamsters Local Union 89 3813 Taylor Blvd. Louisville, KY 40215 fredzuckerman@aol.com

Robert M. Colone, Esq. P.O. Box 272 Sellersburg, IN 47172-0272 rmcolone@hotmail.com

Carl Biers Box 424, 315 Flatbush Avenue Brooklyn, NY 11217 info@SandyPope2011.org Julian Gonzalez Lewis, Clifton & Nikolaidis, P.C. 350 Seventh Avenue, Suite 1800 New York, NY 10001-5013 jgonzalez@lcnlaw.com

John McPartlin 24200 Wilson Drive Brownstown Twp., MI 48143 Jmcpartlin14@comcast.net

Toiale Johnson 5523 Underwood Street Detroit, MI 48204 toiale@aol.com

Kenneth Kwapisz, Secretary-Treasurer Teamsters Local Union 299 2741 Trumbull Avenue Detroit, MI 48216 d.nehasil@teamsterslocal299.com

Joe F. Childers Getty & Childers, PLLC 250 West Main Street, Suite 1900 Lexington, KY 40507 childerslaw@yahoo.com

William C. Broberg 1108 Fincastle Road Lexington, KY 40502-1838 wcbroberg@aol.com

Maria Ho Office of the Election Supervisor 1801 K Street, N.W., Suite 421 L Washington, D.C. 20006 mho@ibtvote.org

Kathryn Naylor Office of the Election Supervisor 1801 K Street, N.W., Suite 421 L Washington, D.C. 20006 knaylor@ibtvote.org

Jeffrey Ellison 214 S. Main Street, Ste. 210 Ann Arbor, MI 48104 EllisonEsq@aol.com