## OFFICE OF THE ELECTION SUPERVISOR for the INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS

IN RE: THOMAS BENNETT,	)
Protestor.	) )

Protest Decision 2006 ESD 265 Issued: May 22, 2006 OES Case Nos. P-06-089-0020206-MW

Thomas Bennett, a member of Local Union 200, filed a pre-election protest pursuant to Article XIII, Section 2(b) of the Rules for the 2005-2006 IBT International Union Delegate and Officer Election ("*Rules*"). The protest alleged that Darryl Connell and Tim Buban, respectively the president and secretary-treasurer of Local Union 200 and members of the Buban-Connell Strong Contracts Good Pensions slate, campaigned in the delegate election on time paid for by the union in violation of the *Rules*. An identical copy of the protest was docketed in Case No. P-06-073-011906-MW. We denied that protest in *Bennett*, 2006 ESD 70 (February 6, 2006). No appeal was taken.

As the allegation in the instant matter is identical in every respect to that alleged in the protest we decided in 2006 ESD 70 and was merely a re-docketing of a previously filed protest, we adopt the decision in 2006 ESD 70 here and DENY the protest.

Any interested party not satisfied with this determination may request a hearing before the Election Appeals Master within two (2) working days of receipt of this decision. The parties are reminded that, absent extraordinary circumstances, no party may rely upon evidence that was not presented to the Office of the Election Supervisor in any such appeal. Requests for a hearing shall be made in writing, shall specify the basis for the appeal and shall be served upon:

Kenneth Conboy Election Appeals Master Latham & Watkins 885 Third Avenue, Suite 1000 New York, New York 10022 Fax: (212) 751-4864

Copies of the request for hearing must be served upon the parties, as well as upon the Election Supervisor for the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, 1725 K Street, N.W., Suite 1400, Washington, D.C. 20007-5135, all within the time prescribed above. A copy of the protest must accompany the request for hearing.

Richard W. Mark Election Supervisor

cc: Kenneth Conboy 2006 ESD 265

## **DISTRIBUTION LIST (BY EMAIL UNLESS OTHERWISE SPECIFIED):**

Bradley T. Raymond, General Counsel International Brotherhood of Teamsters 25 Louisiana Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20001-2198 braymond@teamster.org

David J. Hoffa Hoffa 2006 30300 Northwestern Highway, Suite 324 Farmington Hills, MI 48834 David@hoffapllc.com

Barbara Harvey 645 Griswold Street Suite 3060 Detroit, MI 48226 blmharvey@sbcglobal.net

Ken Paff Teamsters for a Democratic Union P.O. Box 10128 Detroit, MI 48210 ken@tdu.org

Daniel E. Clifton Lewis, Clifton & Nikolaidis, P.C. 275 Seventh Avenue, Suite 2300 New York, NY 10001 dclifton@lcnlaw.com

Stephen Ostrach 1863 Pioneer Parkway East, #217 Springfield, OR 97477-3907 saostrach@gmail.com Thomas Bennett 337 Rubicon Street Neosho, WI 53059 teamstertom@charter.net

Darryl Connell, President IBT Local Union 200 6200 W. Bluemound Road Milwaukee, WI 53213

Tim Buban, Secretary-Treasurer IBT Local Union 200 6200 W. Bluemound Road Milwaukee, WI 53213

Joe F. Childers 201 West Short Street, Suite 310 Lexington, KY 40507 <u>childerslaw@yahoo.com</u>

William Broberg 1108 Fincastle Road Lexington, KY 40502 wcbroberg@aol.com

Jeffrey Ellison 510 Highland Avenue, #325 Milford, MI 48381 EllisonEsq@aol.com